Build: choose a builder · Stage 3: build it

Lovable vs Bolt vs Replit vs v0 vs Base44: prices, limits, and what happens when credits run out

Five AI app builders, priced from their own pages on 2026-10-13: what each plan costs, how it counts usage, what stops when credits or tokens run out, and how to take your code with you. No single winner here; the tables show which builder fits which job.

Updated

Key takeaways

  • As of October 2026, the entry paid plans are Replit Core and Base44 Starter at $20 a month, Lovable Pro and Bolt Pro at $25, and v0 Plus at $30 per user. Each meters a different unit, so the lowest sticker price does not tell you which build costs least.
  • At zero credits, Lovable keeps your published pages up, but AI features in the app fail and its backend (database, storage, sign-in) pauses shortly after. On Base44, when integration credits run out, your app's users see a generic error.
  • Two free plans cap the live app itself by time or traffic: Replit's one free published app goes down after 30 days, and Bolt Free sites go offline at 10 GB or 333,333 requests a month, counted across your whole account.
  • Taking the code with you: Lovable Free can sync to GitHub but cannot download or edit code (Pro can), and Base44's GitHub export starts on Builder at $50 a month.
  • Our call (editorial): no builder wins for every app. Pick by the job: a hosted web app, a Next.js app on Vercel, an Expo app for the stores, or code you own in a repo.

Pick by the job

Start from what you are building, then compare prices. The groups are our classification (editorial), built from each vendor's docs as of October 2026.

Pick by the job
What you are buildingBuilders that fitWhat the builder gives youWatch for
A web app the builder hosts, with a database and sign-inLovable, Bolt, Replit, Base44Hosting plus a built-in backend. Lovable: database, storage and sign-in. Bolt Cloud: databases, sign-in with roles, file storage, server functions and Stripe payments. Replit: production databases and object storage, paid from credits. Base44: sign-in, database and analytics on every plan.One balance often pays for building and for running the app. See what happens when credits run out.
A Next.js app deployed on Vercelv0Works with Next.js, Tailwind and shadcn/ui (per its docs), and deploys on Vercel or opens a pull request for review. GitHub sync is on the Free plan.Deploys run on Vercel, so its plan limits apply. Our hosting free tiers table covers them.
An iPhone or Android app in the storesBolt (both stores), Replit (App Store in its docs)Bolt builds with Expo and can publish to TestFlight, the App Store and Google Play. Replit's Launch feature builds, signs and uploads an iOS build to App Store Connect. Lovable publishes only to a web URL.Bolt says web projects "do not easily switch over to mobile", so say "mobile app" in the first prompt. Base44's web-view route and the full list: which tools can ship to the stores.
Changes to code you own, in your editor or terminalCursor, Claude Code, Codex, GitHub CopilotAn agent that edits your repo. None of them hosts your app (our classification).Plans and limits are on Cursor vs Claude Code vs Codex.
Closed or closingFirebase StudioNew workspaces and sign-ups disabled since June 22, 2026; shuts down March 22, 2027. Apps already deployed keep running.Google points users to Google AI Studio or Google Antigravity.

Sources[1], [8], [16], [25], [14], [12], [10], [22], [4], [27]

Plans and prices, as of October 2026

Monthly prices in USD before tax, billed monthly unless marked. Credits, tokens and messages are different units; the tables after this one show what each buys and what happens when it runs out.

Plans and prices, as of October 2026
BuilderFree planEntry paid planHigher plansAnnual billing
Lovable5 build credits a day, capped at 30 a month, plus 20 Cloud credits and 4 AI credits a month. No code editing or download, no custom domain.Pro: $25 for 100 credits a monthPro tiers up to 10,000 credits for $2,250. Business from $50 for 100 credits. Enterprise by contract.Two months free (Pro with 100 credits is $250 a year)
Bolt300K tokens a day and 1M a month, Bolt branding on sites, unlimited databases, hosting up to 333K requestsPro: $25, "Start at 10M tokens per month"Teams: $30 per member. Enterprise: custom. The help center refers to higher Pro tiers; their prices are not on the pricing page."Save up to 28%"; annual prices are not shown
v07 messages a day; $5 in one-time credits for new users; deploy to Vercel, GitHub sync, Design ModePlus: $30 per user, with $30 of credits a month and $2 of daily login creditsBusiness: $100 per user, same credits, training opt-out by default. Enterprise: custom. Premium is closed to new users.Not shown on the pages we read
ReplitStarter: daily Agent credits up to a monthly cap (amount not published), Lite build only, one published app that goes down after 30 days, "Made with Replit" badgeCore: $20, with $20 toward more powerful models, up to 30 hours of chat and up to 60 projects on Free Mode, up to 5 buildersPro: $100, with $100 toward the most powerful models, more Free Mode usage (amount not stated), up to 15 collaborators, 10 parallel agents. Enterprise: custom.Core $18 and Pro $90 a month, billed annually
Base4425 message credits (at most 5 a day) and 100 integration credits a month, up to 5 apps, with sign-in, database and analyticsStarter: $20 for 100 message and 2,000 integration credits a monthBuilder $50 (250 and 10,000), Pro $100 (500 and 20,000), Elite $200 (1,200 and 50,000), as message and integration credits a month20% off: Starter $16, Builder $40, Pro $80, Elite $160 a month

Prices checked on vendor pages 2026-10-13. Base44's monthly-billed prices come from its own blog post of 2026-07-26; its pricing page shows the annual prices, which match its 20% rule.[1], [2], [5], [6], [12], [13], [15], [16], [17], [23], [24], [25], [26]

When your credits or tokens run out

Two different things can stop: the AI that builds your app, and the app your users already rely on. From each vendor's own docs, as of October 2026.

When your credits or tokens run out
BuilderBuildingYour live appGetting more
LovableA blocking dialog stops new building until credits are available. A message in progress pauses; you can add credits or let it finish. Free: daily build credits stop at 30 a month until the 1st (00:00 UTC).Published pages keep serving. AI features in the app fail at zero. The backend (database, storage, sign-in) pauses shortly after; your data stays safe but cannot be accessed or exported until it runs again, and you may need to click Wake up.Top-ups: $15 per 50 credits on Pro, $30 per 50 on Business, valid for 12 months.
BoltFree: the 300K daily cap resets each day, and you can still edit the code by hand in Code view, which uses no tokens. The help center does not say what happens when paid tokens run out.Hosting limits are separate from tokens. Free: sites stop serving at 10 GB or 333,333 requests a month and stay offline until the next cycle, and the limit covers your whole account. Pro: 30 GB and 1 million requests, then optional pay-as-you-go up to a spending cap you set; at the cap the site pauses until usage resets.Reloads only on the highest monthly Pro plan or any annual Pro plan. Reload tokens do not expire. Reload prices are not on the pages we read.
v0"When credits are used up, generation pauses." Free has a 7-message daily limit. If you connect a ChatGPT plan and hit its limit, v0 pauses and does not switch to v0 credits on its own.Deploys run on Vercel, so hosting limits are Vercel's. Our hosting free tiers table covers them.Paid plans can buy credits at any time; bought credits expire one year after purchase. Unused monthly credits roll over and expire after 65 days.
ReplitStarter gets daily Agent credits up to a monthly cap. On Core and Pro, Free Mode covers everyday Agent work within an allowance (Core: up to 30 hours of chat, per the pricing page); Power and Max modes cost credits, and Replit asks before a paid action starts. Once monthly credits and any credit pack are used up, further usage is billed unless you set a usage limit. At that limit, usage-based services are blocked until the next cycle or until you raise it.Starter: the one free published app goes down after 30 days. Core and Pro: publishing is paid from monthly credits, then billed by usage. If you set a service shutdown limit, your services are suspended when you reach it, until you raise it or the next cycle starts.Credit packs: $100 of credits for $100, $300 for $290, $500 for $480 and $1,000 for $950. Packs expire 6 months after purchase; auto-reload is optional. Set alerts and limits in billing settings.
Base44Out of message credits: you cannot send new messages in the AI chat until the monthly reset or an upgrade. Free: at the 5-credit daily limit, credit features pause until the daily reset.Out of integration credits: actions that need them (email, image generation, LLM calls, in-app agents) fail, and your app's users see a generic error that does not mention credits. Base44 emails you.Wait for the monthly reset or upgrade. Unused credits expire at each reset. Calls made with your own API key do not use integration credits.

Checked on vendor docs 2026-10-13. Where a cell says a page "does not say", we found no statement and make no claim.[1], [6], [7], [13], [15], [16], [19], [20], [30], [31], [24]

Every rebuild uses up your allowance. Check who the app is for before the first one.

Each AI prompt draws on your credits, tokens or a capped free allowance, including the rework after a launch that finds no buyers. Before your first prompt, describe the app and who it is for. Olune scores it free on seven dimensions, then a free sign-in runs the research: search demand for phrases buyers might type, public complaints found through Google, and competitors. You get Cook it, Sleep on it or Kill it, with the reasoning. 3 a day, no card.

Free score, no account. The research needs a free sign-in.

How each one meters usage

Each builder counts a different unit, and credit burn is a recurring complaint in builder subreddits, for example a r/lovable thread on six months of credit spend and a r/replit thread on effort-based pricing, both read 2026-10-10. As of October 2026:

How each one meters usage
BuilderUnitWhat spends itWhat makes it cost moreRollover
LovableCredits, one balance for building, hosting and in-app AIBuild messages; chat messages beyond the daily chat allowance (offered through October 31, 2026), priced on the work done ("typically a fraction of a credit"); Plan mode at 1 credit per message plus any research it runs; Cloud use beyond the 20-credit monthly grant; in-app AI beyond the 4-credit grantBigger changes. Lovable's own examples: making a button gray 0.50 credits, removing the footer 0.90, adding authentication 1.20. Actual cost varies with scope.Monthly plan credits expire 2 months after issue; top-ups after 12 months; daily credits at the end of the day
BoltTokensEvery AI messageProject size. Bolt says most token use comes from syncing your project's files to the AI, and "the larger the project, the more tokens used per message."Paid tokens stay valid for two months while you keep a paid plan; cancel and you lose them at the end of the cycle. Free tokens do not roll over.
v0Dollar credits, spent as tokens priced by modelEvery generation. Chat history and other context count as input tokens.The model you pick: from $0.20 input and $1.20 output per 1M tokens on v0 Mini to $10 and $50 on v0 Max FastUnused monthly credits roll over and expire after 65 days; bought credits last one year
ReplitCredits, in dollarsPower and Max mode requests (one checkpoint each, priced by the work done); third-party AI APIs that Agent services call, at the provider's public API rate; publishingRequest complexity: a simple fix costs less than a full build. Free Mode work within its allowance costs nothing on Core and Pro.Pro: unused monthly credits roll over for two months. The publishing page says unused credits do not roll over, so we treat rollover as Pro only (our reading). Credit packs expire 6 months after purchase.
Base44Two balances: message credits and integration creditsMessage credits: prompting the AI to build or edit. Integration credits: your live app using Base44's built-in services (email, image generation, LLM calls, in-app agents).How much your live app uses those services. Calls made with your own API key do not count.Both reset monthly; unused credits expire

Our rule (editorial): never convert these units into a cost per app. No vendor publishes one, the units do not match, and the same request costs a different amount as the project grows. Compare what a plan covers for the way you build.[1], [5], [6], [12], [13], [18], [19], [20], [30], [24], [28], [29]

Can you take your code with you

What each vendor says about getting your code and data out, as of October 2026. "Not checked" means we did not read that vendor's terms, so we make no claim either way.

Can you take your code with you
BuilderGetting the code outOn the Free planOwnership, in the vendor's wordsData and backend
LovableGit sync to GitHub, GitLab or Bitbucket; zip download; host the app anywhereGit sync only. Editing and downloading code need Pro or Business."You own what you create," subject to third-party rights such as open-source licencesDatabase, storage and configuration are portable, exported separately. Moving only the Postgres database leaves sign-in, storage, realtime and Edge Functions behind.
BoltProject title, then Export, then Download gives a zip you run with npm install && npm run dev; GitHub integrationPlan not stated on the help pageNot checkedSupabase is an option on Pro and Teams; switching from a Bolt database to Supabase later "requires extra steps".
v0GitHub sync, or a pull request for review; deploy on VercelGitHub sync is on the Free planNot checkedIts docs list Next.js, Tailwind and shadcn/ui among the tools it works with. A zip download is not mentioned in the docs we read.
ReplitBuilt-in Git; import, modify and push code between Replit and GitHubNot stated on the page we readNot checkedPro restores the database to any point in the last 28 days, against 7 days as standard. A zip download is not mentioned on the page we read.
Base44Two-way sync with GitHub, from Builder up, puts the full source code in your own repoNo. GitHub integration starts on Builder."You own everything you build on Base44: your code, your data, your users."Third-party services you connect (Stripe, SendGrid, OpenAI and others) bill you directly.

Checked on vendor docs 2026-10-13.[2], [3], [9], [11], [12], [14], [18], [21], [23], [25]

Our call: which builder fits which app

Editorial, for a solo builder using AI tools with no audience yet, working evenings and weekends. Each line says when a builder fits and the one thing to watch. None of them wins for every app.

  • Lovable fits if. you want a hosted web app with a database and sign-in, and you will pay for Pro to edit or download the code. Watch: at zero credits the backend pauses, so keep a credit buffer once real users depend on it. There is no store path; it publishes a web URL.[1], [2], [4]
  • Bolt fits if. you want to read and fix the code yourself when tokens run low, or you need an Expo app for the stores from day one. Watch: say "mobile app" in the first prompt, and remember that Free hosting limits cover every site on your account.[6], [7], [10]
  • v0 fits if. your app is Next.js, you plan to deploy on Vercel, and you want the code to land in GitHub or a pull request. Watch: the model you choose sets the token price, and chat history counts as input.[12], [13], [14]
  • Replit fits if. you want building, databases, publishing and an iOS upload route in one place, with hard budget limits. Watch: paid modes price each request by effort, so set a budget limit before long Agent runs, and the free published app goes down after 30 days.[16], [19], [30], [22]
  • Base44 fits if. you want no-code building with sign-in and a database on every plan, and your app runs AI or email features that you want counted apart from building. Watch: when integration credits run out, your users see a generic error, and GitHub export needs Builder.[23], [24], [25]
  • A coding agent fits if. you can work in a repo and pick your own host. Compare those plans on our Cursor vs Claude Code vs Codex page.

Run the same first prompt on each free plan

As of October 2026 the free daily allowances are Lovable 5 build credits, Bolt 300K tokens, v0 7 messages and Base44 5 message credits; Replit Starter gives daily Agent credits (amount not published). Our suggestion (editorial): paste the same prompt into each, fill in the brackets the same way, and compare what you get before you pay for any of them.

1. First prompt

Build a [type of app] for [who], who today use [current fix]. The first screen does one job: [the job]. Add email sign-in and one database table for [main record]. No payments yet. Tell me which files you created and what you could not do.

Sources[1], [5], [12], [24], [16]

Before you pay for any builder

Five checks to run on the vendor's own pages. Each maps to a table above.

  • What stops at zero: only building, or your live app too? Lovable and Base44 both say the live app is affected. See when credits run out.[1], [24]
  • Can you edit and download the code on the plan you are buying? On Lovable that starts at Pro; on Base44, GitHub export starts at Builder.[2], [23]
  • How long do unused credits or tokens last? As of October 2026, Base44 credits expire at each monthly reset. Lovable plan credits on monthly billing and Bolt paid tokens last 2 months, v0 monthly credits 65 days, Replit credit packs 6 months, and Lovable top-ups and v0 bought credits 12 months. Bolt reload tokens do not expire.[24], [1], [6], [13], [30]
  • Can you set a hard spending limit? Replit lets you set a usage limit and a service shutdown limit for usage past your monthly credits, and Bolt Pro hosting lets you set a spending cap for pay-as-you-go traffic.[30], [7]
  • Where will the app run, and what does that cost once you leave the free plan? Check the hosts in our hosting free tiers table, and the stores in which tools can ship to the stores.

Pick the builder after the idea passes

Every builder on this page meters the build in credits or tokens, and none of their pricing pages can tell you whether anyone wants the app. Describe it to Olune and get a free score first. A free sign-in then runs the research on search demand, competitors and public complaints found through Google, and returns Cook it, Sleep on it or Kill it with the reasoning. Kill is a normal answer, and a kill gets no Build Kit. Olune does not check your code or find users for you.

Free score, no account. The research needs a free sign-in.

Common questions

Which is cheaper, Bolt or Lovable?

Neither is cheaper on the sticker: as of October 2026 both entry paid plans cost $25 a month. Lovable Pro gives 100 credits, and Lovable's own examples put small edits at 0.50 to 1.20 credits each. Bolt Pro starts at 10M tokens, and Bolt says most token use comes from syncing your project's files, so the same edit can cost more as the project grows. On the free plans, Bolt gives 300K tokens a day (1M a month) and Lovable gives 5 build credits a day (30 a month).

Is Lovable better than Replit?

Neither is better for every app (our editorial view); they fit different jobs. Lovable suits a hosted web app with a built-in backend and publishes only to a web URL. Replit has an iOS upload route through its Launch feature and lets you set hard usage limits, and its paid Agent modes price each request by effort. If your app needs the App Store, that difference decides it.

Is 100 credits enough for Lovable?

It depends on the size of your changes, and Lovable publishes no credits-per-app figure, so nobody can promise 100 is enough. Its own examples price small edits at 0.50 to 1.20 credits and Plan mode at 1 credit per message, and actual cost varies with scope. As of October 2026, Pro also adds 5 daily build credits with no monthly cap (up to 150 in a 30-day month, our arithmetic), and Pro tiers go up to 10,000 credits a month.

Can Lovable build mobile apps?

No, not for the App Store or Google Play on its own: Lovable publishes to a web URL only. Of the builders here, Bolt (with Expo, both stores) and Replit (an iOS upload through Launch) document a store route as of October 2026. Fees, review rules and workarounds for Lovable are on which tools can ship to the stores.

What happens when Lovable credits run out?

Building stops behind a blocking dialog, AI features in your published app fail, and the built-in backend (database, storage, sign-in) pauses shortly after. Published pages keep serving and your data stays safe, but you cannot access or export it until the backend runs again. Top-ups cost $15 per 50 credits on Pro and $30 per 50 on Business, as of October 2026.

Is Firebase Studio shutting down?

Yes: Google is sunsetting Firebase Studio on March 22, 2027, and new workspaces and sign-ups have been disabled since June 22, 2026. Apps already deployed keep running, and Firestore, Authentication and App Hosting are not affected. Google points users to Google AI Studio or Google Antigravity.

Can I export my code from Lovable or Base44?

Yes, with limits by plan: Lovable syncs to GitHub on every plan but needs Pro to download or edit code, and Base44 exports the full source through GitHub from the Builder plan ($50 a month, as of October 2026). Lovable says it does not rely on proprietary data stores, and Base44 says you own your code, data and users.

Is Base44 better than Lovable?

Neither is better for every app (our editorial view); they bill your live app differently. Base44 counts the AI and email your app uses in separate integration credits, while Lovable pays for building, hosting and in-app AI from one credit balance. Base44 includes sign-in, a database and analytics on its Free plan, and its GitHub export starts on Builder ($50 a month, as of October 2026). Lovable syncs to Git on every plan but needs Pro to edit or download code.

Sources

Each number in brackets on this page points here. Prices and limits change; the date is when we read the page.

  1. [1]Lovable docs, Plans and credits · accessed
  2. [2]Lovable docs, Subscription plans · accessed
  3. [3]Lovable docs, Deployment, hosting and ownership · accessed
  4. [4]Lovable docs, Publish · accessed
  5. [5]Bolt, Pricing · accessed
  6. [6]Bolt help center, Tokens · accessed
  7. [7]Bolt help center, Hosting plans · accessed
  8. [8]Bolt help center, What is Bolt Cloud · accessed
  9. [9]Bolt help center, Manage projects and files (export) · accessed
  10. [10]Bolt help center, Expo for mobile apps · accessed
  11. [11]Bolt help center, Supabase · accessed
  12. [12]v0, Pricing · accessed
  13. [13]v0 docs, Pricing · accessed
  14. [14]v0 docs, Overview · accessed
  15. [15]Replit, Pricing · accessed
  16. [16]Replit docs, Starter plan · accessed
  17. [17]Replit docs, Replit Core · accessed
  18. [18]Replit docs, Replit Pro · accessed
  19. [19]Replit docs, AI billing · accessed
  20. [20]Replit docs, Publishing costs · accessed
  21. [21]Replit docs, Version control · accessed
  22. [22]Replit docs, Upload an iOS app · accessed
  23. [23]Base44, Pricing · accessed
  24. [24]Base44 docs, Credits · accessed
  25. [25]Base44 docs, Billing and plans · accessed
  26. [26]Base44 blog, How much does Base44 cost (published 2026-07-26) · accessed
  27. [27]Firebase docs, Firebase Studio · accessed
  28. [28]r/lovable, thread on six months of Lovable credit spend (2026-01-08) · accessed
  29. [29]r/replit, thread on Replit Agent effort-based pricing (2026-07-16) · accessed
  30. [30]Replit docs, Managing your spend · accessed
  31. [31]Replit docs, Publishing and database billing · accessed

Part of the vibe coding guide: what to check before, during and after the build.